Test My Kid vs buying MAP Growth at home

Jun Loayza ·

Homeschool Boss sells MAP Growth, and says that typically, if your student is enrolled in a school, it is not allowed to test them. Test My Kid is open to any family: you start a check at home whenever you like, the first math check is free with no account, and the result names a grade and whether your child is approaching, meeting or exceeding it, with every question and your child's answer. Homeschool Boss lists $60 for your first student: buy that for an official RIT score.

You can buy the real NWEA MAP Growth test for home use. Homeschool Boss sells it. Its base package includes math and reading, and it lists $60 for your first student. The catch is the eligibility rule rather than the price.

Homeschool Boss says that typically, if your student is enrolled in a school, it is not allowed to test them, and it invites you to get in touch about unusual situations. If that describes your family, the honest answer is not "we are cheaper", it is that the thing you went looking for is usually not sold to you. Test My Kid has no such rule. Any family can check at home, including one whose child is enrolled in a school, and you start whenever you like rather than inside a booking window.

What you get back from us is a named grade and where your child sits in it: approaching, meeting or exceeding that grade, with every question and your child's answer on the report. The first math check is free and needs no account. That is the whole of the claim, and the rest of this page is mostly about where the $60 test is worth more.

What Homeschool Boss actually sells

Homeschool Boss is a reseller of NWEA MAP Growth. It describes itself as NWEA's exclusive partner in providing MAP Growth and MAP Reading Fluency assessments to small private schools, and it lists homeschoolers as allowed to take NWEA MAP Growth assessments through it. Homeschool co-ops that meet regularly are listed as allowed too, and groups of 5+ students qualify for group pricing. The fourth heading under Allowed is magnet schools: a homeschooled student applying to a specialized magnet school is asked to verify with the school first that MAP Growth scores from Homeschool Boss will be accepted. It also tells homeschoolers to check their home state's homeschooling requirements, which vary.

What you are buying is the genuine instrument. NWEA describes the computer-adaptive MAP Growth assessments as the ones educators trust to inform their most impactful decisions about student learning, and says MAP Growth accurately measures growth over time with the grade-level independent RIT scale. That last property is the one a parent is usually trying to get hold of: a number that means the same thing in third grade as it does in seventh, so a run of sittings becomes a line rather than a set of unrelated dots.

NWEA also says MAP Growth is considered to be the gold standard for reliability and accuracy, and that it can predict performance on upcoming state tests, ACT, or SAT. We make no comparable claim and will not pretend to. Nobody outside this company has reviewed our calibration.

It covers far more ground than we do, as well. NWEA says MAP Growth measures growth and achievement across a wide range of subjects, catering to both English and Spanish speaking students from kindergarten through twelfth grade, and lists mathematics, reading, language arts and science. We are math and reading, grades 1 to 8, in English, with no kindergarten level: a kindergartner is measured against a Grade 1 floor. If your child is five, or in high school, or you want a Spanish-language sitting, this page ends here and MAP Growth is your answer.

Two more rules are worth reading before you plan around the price. Homeschool Boss's permitted-use page files test prep and test practice under a heading it labels Not Allowed, and puts students applying to Gifted and Talented programs under the same heading, adding that retesting for higher scores for that placement is explicitly prohibited. The questions below quote both rules in full.

What Test My Kid is

Test My Kid is a ten-question assessment in math and reading that takes about eight minutes, for children in first through eighth grade, taken at home whenever the parent likes, with the parent as the customer. It is calibrated to NWEA MAP and iReady benchmarks. Test My Kid is not those tests, and we will not imply otherwise.

Ten questions is enough to place a child's working level and, for a signed-in family, to name up to three topics that came back shaky, each one backed by the questions your child actually missed, with a printable worksheet and an answer key. It is not enough to map every sub-skill, and a full diagnostic battery genuinely sees more of what a child can do. That trade was made on purpose. A short check is one a family will actually run again in a few weeks, and the second reading is where almost all of the value sits: one number tells you where a child is standing, two numbers tell you which way they are walking.

The first math check is free and needs no account. A guest gets the verdict, a named grade and where the child sits in it, with every question and the child's answer. The focus topics, the printable worksheet and the chart across tests need a free account, and reading needs one too. After a thirty-day trial, continuing costs $99 a year for the whole family, every child included, and past reports stay free to read whatever you decide. It is an assessment. It does not teach, and if your child needs instruction, a program that teaches is the thing to buy.

MAP Growth through Homeschool Boss vs Test My KidChecked September 2026
FeatureMAP Growth via Homeschool BossTest My Kid
What it isThe genuine NWEA instrument, bought through an authorised resellerA ten-question check at home, about eight minutes, that names a grade and where your child sits in it
Who may buy itHomeschoolers, regularly meeting co-ops, small private schools, and homeschooled students applying to a specialized magnet school, who are asked to verify first that the school will accept the scores. Homeschool Boss says it is typically not allowed to test a student enrolled in a school, and that students applying to Gifted and Talented programs are not allowed to test with it.From the company's own site source, checked September 2026Any family, including one whose child is enrolled in school
Price$60 for a first student, $45 for each additional studentFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026First math check free, no account. $99 a year per family after a 30-day trial, every child included.
Subjects in the base priceMath and reading. Language Usage +$10, Science +$20 per student.From the company's own site source, checked September 2026Math and reading
Grades coveredKindergarten through twelfth grade, NWEA says, for both English and Spanish speaking studentsFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026Grades 1 to 8, in English. No kindergarten level: a kindergartner is measured against a Grade 1 floor.
What you get backAn official RIT score on NWEA's grade-level independent scaleFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026A named grade and where your child sits in it: approaching, meeting or exceeding that grade
ReportsNWEA says its reports focus on next steps, and lists a Family Report among MAP Growth's reportsFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026Every question with your child's answer. For a signed-in family, up to three topics that came back shaky, with a printable worksheet and answer key.
AdaptiveComputer-adaptive, in NWEA's own descriptionFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026Math: yes, each question is chosen from the answers so far. Reading adapts between passages when answered as multiple choice, the default for grades 1 to 5. Grades 6 to 8 default to open-ended answers on passages chosen before the test starts.
Independent reviewNWEA says MAP Growth is considered to be the gold standard for reliability and accuracy. We did not check third-party reviews for this page.From the company's own site source, checked September 2026None. Our levels are calibrated to NWEA MAP and iReady benchmarks, and no third party has reviewed them.
Designed to be repeatedYes. Booked through Homeschool Boss, whose site says fall testing is open now through November 25, 2026.From the company's own site source, checked September 2026Yes, as often as every two weeks per subject. About eight minutes is what makes that practical.
Where instruction comes fromNWEA says MAP Growth integrates with over 30 leading supplemental learning providers, to personalize instruction for your studentsFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026Not from us. Test My Kid measures and does not teach.
Available todayYes, if you qualify and book inside the testing windowYes. The first math check is free and needs no account.

Where the money actually goes

The two prices are not counting the same unit, and lining them up without saying so would mislead you. Homeschool Boss lists $60 for your first student and $45 for each additional student, for math and reading, so it prices per student. Test My Kid charges $99 a year per family after the trial, and that covers every child in the family. The pricing page we read gives no figure for a second sitting, so ask before you plan more than one.

What it costs, by householdChecked September 2026
FeatureMAP Growth via Homeschool BossTest My Kid
One child, one sitting$60Free for the first math check, then $99 for the family
Two children, one sitting each$105, which is $60 + $45$99 for the family
Three children, one sitting each$150, which is $60 + $45 + $45$99 for the family
Adding a subjectLanguage Usage +$10, Science +$20, per studentFrom the company's own site source, checked September 2026Math and reading only. No science, no language usage.
Checking againA price to test againNot stated on the pages we checked.Included. One check per subject in each two-week window.
What you keep afterwardsWhat a family keeps after testingNot stated on the pages we checked.Past reports stay free to read, including after a subscription lapses

For a single child taking one official test, $60 is straightforwardly good value, and cheaper than a year of Test My Kid, though our first math check is free. That is worth saying plainly. With two children the arithmetic turns the other way, $105 against $99 for the family. Homeschool Boss lists $45 for each additional student, and the pricing page we read gives no figure for a second sitting, so ask before you plan more than one.

Which one should you use?

Which to start with
FeatureStart withWhy
You homeschool and your state's testing requirement accepts MAP GrowthMAP GrowthA requirement decides it. Buy the real instrument.
You homeschool and want the official RIT score for your recordsMAP GrowthOnly MAP Growth itself gives you an official RIT score.
Your child is enrolled in a schoolTest My KidHomeschool Boss says that typically, if your student is enrolled in a school, it is not allowed to test them. That is availability, not preference.
Your child is in kindergarten, or above eighth gradeMAP GrowthNWEA says it covers kindergarten through twelfth grade. We start at Grade 1 and stop at Grade 8.
You want to see whether the tutoring you are paying for is workingTest My KidThat needs several readings a few weeks apart. We allow one check per subject in each two-week window; Homeschool Boss's site says fall testing is open now through November 25, 2026.
Your child is applying to a Gifted and Talented programNeitherHomeschool Boss says those students are not allowed to test with it, and we do not measure reasoning ability. Ask the program what it accepts.
You want a per-skill map of exactly what your child can doA full diagnosticTen questions place a level. A long battery maps a skill set. Those are different products.
You want one number, once, and you qualify to buy itMAP GrowthIt is the better instrument and $60 is a fair price.

Four of those eight rows point at MAP Growth, one at a full diagnostic and one at neither of us, which leaves two pointing at Test My Kid. That is the actual answer rather than modesty. A comparison where the publisher wins every row is an advertisement, and you can tell.

What a RIT score actually tells you

This part is worth two minutes, because it is the reason a lot of parents go looking for the test in the first place: they were handed a number and could not do anything with it.

A RIT score is not a percentage and not a grade. It sits on one scale across grades, which NWEA calls grade-level independent, and our score chart by grade gives the mean RIT for each grade and season. Its useful property is that the scale carries across years rather than restarting. A child who gains ten points between third grade and fifth grade has grown by ten points on the same ruler, and that is the whole design goal.

On its own, a single RIT score answers almost nothing. It becomes meaningful in two ways. One is a percentile, if your report gives one, which compares your child with other children in the same grade; our percentile chart shows how to read it. The other is your child's own earlier scores, which give you the growth, and growth is the number most worth watching, because a child can sit below the median and be climbing faster than the median at the same time. Those two children, one at the fiftieth percentile and flat, one at the thirtieth and climbing, need different conversations, and only the second number tells them apart.

The trap is reading a single point as a verdict. Any score moves a little from one sitting to the next for reasons that have nothing to do with learning, so a small drop on its own is weak evidence. We are not going to attach a figure to that here, because the page we read for this comparison gives none, and a number we cannot show you the source for is worth no more than one you look up yourself. The number earns its keep on the second sitting.

"On grade level" and "fiftieth percentile" are not the same claim

These two phrases answer different questions, and the difference trips up more parents than any other part of this subject.

A percentile is norm-referenced. It compares your child with other children: the fiftieth percentile means half the children in that grade, at that point in the year, scored lower. It is a statement about the population, and it moves when the population moves. "Meeting Grade 4" is criterion-referenced. It compares your child with a fixed description of what the grade covers, and it does not care what other children did. A whole class can meet the criterion, or none of them can.

Both are useful, and they answer different worries. If your worry is whether your child will be ready for what comes next, the criterion is closer to what you mean. If it is whether your child is keeping up with their peers, the percentile is. MAP Growth reports a RIT score on NWEA's grade-level independent scale, and NWEA says a class report lets a teacher instantly view students' projected proficiency on state standards. Our report leads with the criterion view: it names a grade and says whether your child is approaching, meeting or exceeding it. The practical consequence is that a child can sit at the sixtieth percentile and still not have a firm grip on the grade's content. When a number comes back, from anyone, the first thing worth asking is which of those two things it is telling you.

What booking the real test involves

Buying MAP Growth at home takes more than clicking a link. Homeschool Boss asks you to book testing, and the permitted-use page we read on 17 September 2026 carried a banner saying fall testing is open now through November 25, 2026. So this is something to plan around a window rather than do on the afternoon the question occurs to you.

Neither Homeschool Boss nor NWEA states a sitting length on the pages we checked, so ask Homeschool Boss how much time to set aside for each subject, and what your child needs in front of them on the day. We are not going to invent a number about somebody else's test.

What we can say comes from NWEA's own description of MAP Growth as computer-adaptive: the questions adjust as your child answers, so a child who comes out saying it was hard has not necessarily done badly. It is worth telling them that beforehand. A hard question is the test finding the edge of what they know, which is exactly the job you are paying it to do, and working through it is the point.

Before you buy anything, ask the school

If your child is enrolled in a school, ask whether the school already gives MAP Growth or iReady before you look anywhere else, and the reason to check first has nothing to do with saving money. It is that a score the school already holds comes with the growth history and a teacher who can talk about it.

What you may already have, before you spend anything
FeatureWhere it comes fromWhat to ask for
Your child's school uses MAP GrowthThe school, usually freeAsk for the Family Report, one of the MAP Growth reports NWEA lists, and for every past score rather than only the latest.
Your child's school uses iReadyThe school, usually freeAsk for your child's latest iReady results, and any earlier ones.
Your school tests but does not send results homeAsk anywayAsk for a family-facing report. It is your child's data.
You homeschoolNobody has it but youThis is the case where buying the real test fills a gap that nothing else fills.
The school tested in autumn and it is now springThe gap is the problemA six-month-old number cannot tell you whether this term worked. This is the gap a ten-question check you can repeat as often as every two weeks is for.

We would rather you spend nothing and ask the school than buy anything from us on a misunderstanding. A page that skipped this section would convert slightly better and deserve less trust.

What to do when the number comes back low

This is the situation many parents are in when they start reading, and it deserves a straight answer rather than a product.

First, resist acting on one reading. A single below-median result on a single day is weak evidence, because any score moves a little from one sitting to the next. Before rearranging a child's afternoons, get a second reading, ideally by a different route from the first.

Second, find out whether the gap is broad or narrow. A child whose result came back low across every topic has a different problem from one who is on level everywhere except fractions. The first suggests something foundational, or something about how the subject is reaching them; the second is a specific hole that a few weeks of targeted work often closes. Any assessment worth using should tell you which of those you are looking at. Ours names up to three topics for a signed-in family, each backed by the questions your child missed.

Third, change one thing and measure again. Not three things. If you add a tutoring programme, twenty minutes of nightly reading and a summer workbook all at once, a better number in March tells you that something worked and nothing about what. Parents pay for enrichment for years without finding out which part of it mattered, and the reason is almost always that too much changed between readings.

Fourth, keep the child out of it. The number is management information for the adults. A child who learns their score and hears it discussed as a verdict starts to treat their own ability as a fixed quantity, which is the opposite of what any of this is for. What helps is naming the specific thing to practise and the effort that moves it.

What a result from either one is for

Test My Kid does not teach: it measures. NWEA says it connects MAP Growth to over 30 leading supplemental learning providers, to personalize instruction for your students. Both tell you where a child is standing. If the result comes back lower than you hoped, the next purchase is instruction, and that is a different page and a different budget.

Neither replaces what the school already has. If your child is enrolled, the school may already have MAP or iReady results, and asking for them costs nothing. A parent who has not asked should ask before spending anything at all, and we would rather say that than sell around it.

Neither is a diagnosis. A short assessment and a long one can both show that a child's result in a subject came back lower than you hoped. Neither can tell you why, and a persistent, unexplained gap is a conversation with the school and possibly a psychoeducational evaluation, not a purchase from either of us.

How to tell whether it is working

Whatever you choose, the thing worth setting up is a second reading. One number is a dot. Two numbers, taken far enough apart to mean something, are a direction, and a direction is what actually answers the question parents are asking when they go looking for a test.

If you buy MAP Growth, book it inside Homeschool Boss's testing window and space any second sitting far enough after the first that growth is plausible. If you use an at-home alternative to MAP built to be repeated, the rhythm can be tighter: ours allows one check per subject in each two-week window, and a signed-in family sees every result charted against the grade expected on the date of that test. The discipline is to resist reading too much into a single move. A child who slept badly produces a lower number, and that is not a trend.

Either way, write down what you changed between readings. A tutoring programme started, twenty minutes of reading added at bedtime, a summer with none of it. Without that, a second number tells you what happened but not what caused it, and the entire point of measuring twice is to find out whether the thing you are paying for is doing anything.

You can see the shape of that on our sample analysis, which is built from the same page a signed-in family sees, filled in with sample results for a fictional fourth-grader.

How we checked this

Every price and rule attributed to Homeschool Boss on this page was read from their own site, at the two pages linked in the table cells above, on 7 September 2026 and again on 17 September 2026. Everything we say about MAP Growth itself, including that it is computer-adaptive, its grade-level independent RIT scale, its reports, its grade range and its reach, comes from NWEA's own product page, read on 17 September 2026. Where those pages say nothing, as they do about how long a sitting takes and what a second sitting costs, this page says nothing either.

We did not take any of these figures from another company's comparison article, and prices in this space circulate for years after they stop being true. If a number here is wrong, it is our error, and we will date the correction rather than quietly editing it.

Test My Kid's own facts come from our product: ten questions in about eight minutes, math and reading, first through eighth grade, the first math check free with no account, $99 a year per family after a thirty-day trial, every child in the family included, past reports free to read.

Where Test My Kid is strong

Where we fall short

Frequently asked questions

My child goes to a regular school. Can I buy the MAP test for them?
Usually not through this channel. Homeschool Boss's permitted-use page says that typically, if your student is enrolled in a school, it is not allowed to test them, and it invites you to get in touch about unusual situations. The groups it lists as allowed are homeschoolers, homeschool co-ops that meet regularly, small private schools, and homeschooled students applying to a specialized magnet school, whom it asks to verify with the school that MAP Growth scores from Homeschool Boss will be accepted. This is the single most important thing to know before you plan around the $60. Test My Kid has no such rule: any family can start a check at home, and the first math check is free with no account.
Can I really buy the NWEA MAP test for my child?
Yes, through Homeschool Boss, which describes itself as NWEA's exclusive partner in providing MAP Growth and MAP Reading Fluency assessments to small private schools. Its base package includes math and reading, at $60 for your first student and $45 for each additional student, with Language Usage at $10 more per student and Science at $20 more per student. Groups of five or more students qualify for group pricing. Those were the published prices when we read the page on 17 September 2026.
Is Test My Kid the same as MAP Growth?
No. MAP Growth is NWEA's own test, and NWEA counts 13+ million students served. Test My Kid is calibrated to NWEA MAP and iReady benchmarks, and we are not that test. What you get from us is a named grade and where your child sits in it, approaching, meeting or exceeding that grade, with every question and your child's answer. Once you sign in, the report also names up to three topics that came back shaky and builds a printable worksheet with an answer key. What you get from MAP Growth is an official RIT score on NWEA's grade-level independent scale, with reports NWEA says focus on next steps.
Which one should I use if I homeschool?
If your state has a homeschool testing requirement, check that MAP Growth meets it first, as Homeschool Boss itself tells homeschoolers to do. If it does, or you want the official RIT score, buy MAP Growth. It is the real thing and $60 is a fair price for it. One way to combine them: the official test for your records, and a ten-question check in between, as often as every two weeks, to see whether the work is landing.
Why is your assessment only ten questions, about eight minutes?
Because a check you will actually run again tells you which way your child is moving, and one reading cannot. Ten questions can place a child's level. They cannot map every sub-skill, and a full diagnostic battery genuinely sees more of what a child can do. We made that trade deliberately, and it is the right trade only if you use the repeatability: you can check each subject as often as every two weeks. If you want depth from one sitting, a full diagnostic is the better buy.
Is Test My Kid better than MAP Growth at anything?
At three narrow things. It is open to a family whose child is enrolled in a school, and Homeschool Boss says that typically, if your student is enrolled in a school, it is not allowed to test them. It is short enough to repeat as often as every two weeks, so you see a direction rather than a dot. And a parent starts a check at home whenever they like, while Homeschool Boss asks you to book testing and its site says fall testing is open now through November 25, 2026. On reliability, reach and independent review, MAP Growth is well ahead of us.
Are there other rules I should know about before booking?
Two, and both are on the same permitted-use page. Homeschool Boss says NWEA MAP products from Homeschool Boss are not to be used as test prep or test practice. It also says students applying to Gifted and Talented programs are not allowed to test with Homeschool Boss, and that retesting for higher scores for that placement is explicitly prohibited. Separately, it tells homeschoolers to check their home state's homeschooling requirements, because those vary by state.
How often should my child be tested?
NWEA says MAP Growth accurately measures growth over time with the grade-level independent RIT scale, and Homeschool Boss's site says fall testing is open now through November 25, 2026. Test My Kid lets you check each subject as often as every two weeks, and a signed-in family sees every result charted against the grade expected on the date of that test. The useful comparison is not one test against another, it is one data point against several. Whatever you use, the question worth answering is whether the line is moving.

Keep reading